top of page

Greeks Do Pizza Too?!

I love taking typically unhealthy dishes and showing people how they can be improved to create healthier options, my favorite... is pizza. Pizza can actually be a decent meal when it is loaded with vegetables, minimal cheese and no fatty meats. One of my go to pizza recipes (coming soon to the blog) is a roasted vegetable classic pizza. For today's post I wanted to do something completely different, a greek gyro pizza. Since I don't care for lamb I decided to substitute it with spicy roasted chickpeas. Other than that this pizza is like eating a gyro straight from a greek restaurant.

Side Note: This was also my first time using cauliflower pizza crust, which provided added flavor that I really enjoyed. I did not bake the crust before I put the toppings on it and that left me with a bit of a soggy end product. Next time I make this I will bake the crust a little before hand to result in a less soggy pizza. I have to admit I liked the flavor of the cauliflower crust better than traditional bread and it adds another serving of vegetables to the dish! Mangiamo!

Greek Gyro Pizza

Yields: 2-4 servings

Ingredients:

  • Cauliflower pizza crust, I used Trader Joe's frozen crust

  • 1 Beefsteak Tomato, sliced

  • 1/4 cup Cucumber, sliced

  • 1/4 cup Feta cheese, crumbled

  • 2-3 tbsp Tzatziki

  • 1/4 cup Spicy Roasted Chickpeas (recipe here)

Directions:

  1. Bake pizza crust according to package directions.

  2. While crust is baking, slice tomato and cucumber.

  3. Remove crust from oven and top with tomato, cucumber, feta and spicy roasted chickpeas.

  4. Drizzle tzatziki over pizza and place back in over for a few minutes or until feta begins to brown.

  5. Remove from oven, slice and enjoy.

Related Posts

See All
You Might Also Like:
bottom of page